A Work In Progress: My Studio

by Creative Bleed

Moving is always a daunting task. Moving several heavy objects from point a to b in one day is physically tiring. Unpacking those small objects over the course of several weeks and figuring out where to put them is overwhelming and mentally debilitating. Therefore, after moving into our new place last month the time has come for me to put together my studio space. You would think I would be excited about it, but truth be told I am feeling a little unmotivated. Here’s why:

1.)   Past spaces have become a cluster fuck of papers, portfolio pieces, unfinished projects, books, pens, highlighters, photographs, scraps of fabric, bills, junk mail and other random shit.

The result: An uninspiring workspace where I just throw things I do not want lying around the house and I end up working at the kitchen table.

2.)   The space itself is the corner of an old unfinished garage. Although I am grateful for the space, it just feels so un-motivating and un-inspiring. It feels too much like an old garage.

Presently my studio

The Challenge:

This time it is to make it an organized & functional studio space. The space is shared with my husband so the pressure is on to keep my corner of the garage clean and functional. In addition to that, well it needs to look cool, it needs to be a place where someone would want be.

This is a work in progress post that will be stretched out over the next few weeks. Check back and see where I am at and please share any thoughts, ideas or tell me about your studio, workshop, office or craft room. K

5 Comments to “A Work In Progress: My Studio”

  1. I was telling your lovely hubby that you could put up a sheet (or two) behind the old windows that were installed. It would act as a piece of art if you were to paint it like a sky, but would serve as a means of separating your shit from his. Just an idea. -Kirk

  2. Can I help?

  3. You’ll make it look great – I know it:)
    At least this is a space for YOU…no outside pressure to deal with…only the voice inside your head;)

Leave a comment